Sounding Out: Stage Notes

16 March 2013
Royal Opera House
Produced by: 
Sound and Music and Royal Opera House

Stage Notes: part of Sound and Music’s Sounding Out series

Sound and Music’s Sounding Out series is a rolling programme of panel discussions and presentations providing insights into professional practice across new music and sound.

In partnership with the Royal Opera House, Stage Notes is an opportunity for artists and producers at an early stage in their careers to hear directly from leading industry figures from the world of opera.

Through a half-day of panel discussions and Q&As composers, directors and artists will explore diverse approaches to opera. Away from the stage, Sounding Out also acts as an informal networking opportunity for artists and producers to start developing those new ideas inspired by the event.

For emerging composers, librettists, artists and producers interested in creating dramatic work this event offers a unique professional development opportunity.

Sound and Music’s Chief Executive Susanna Eastburn will chair a panel discussion with participants Judith Weir (composer and librettist), Oliver Mears (Artistic Director of Northern Ireland Opera and founder/Artistic Director of Second Movement), Laura Bowler (composer, mezzo-soprano, and founder/Artistic Director of Size Zero Opera), Jonathan Reekie (Chief Executive of Aldeburgh Music) and Martin Crimp (playwright and librettist).

Talks and presentations covering a broad range of approaches to opera will be given by Huw Watkins (composer and pianist) and David Harsent (poet and librettist) who have collaborated most recently on In the Locked Room, John Fulljames (Associate Director of Opera at the Royal Opera House), and Jennifer Walshe (composer and vocalist).

Tickets are £5, available from the Royal Opera House:
+44 (0)20 7 304 4000



Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016