ROSL Composition Award

Filed under:
Interest area:
29 May 2020

The Royal Over-Seas League is pleased to introduce the new ROSL Composition Award 2020, in association with the London Sinfonietta. Advanced young professional composers aged 18-35 are invited to apply for one of six places to workshop a short original work with London Sinfonietta, following which one composer will be selected to win the award, and a £3,000 commission to compose a 12-15 minute chamber work for six players and conductor, to be premiered by London Sinfonietta in July 2021 at the Southbank Centre.

ROSL is committed to unlocking the musical potential of schoolchildren in partnership with the Griffin Schools Trust, and we will run three Go Compose! days in secondary schools in Bedworth, Milton Keynes and East London as part of this award. Shortlisted composers will be invited to attend and assist on these days.


Cheryl Frances-HoadGavin HigginsTina Speed (Chester Music)Errollyn Wallen CBE

Eligibility & timeline

The ROSL Composition Award 2020 is open to citizens of the UK and Commonwealth, including former Commonwealth countries, for composers from the age of 18 up to and including the age of 35 as of 31 December 2020. You must have citizenship at the time of application. Applicants must include a scan of their birth certificate or passport at the time of entry.

This is an open call and the only requirement is you have two professional referees who will vouch for you. Scores can be in any type of notation. We particularly welcome submissions from artists from a non-classical background, as well as music creators from historically under-represented groups or communities such as BAME (black, Asian or minority ethnic), LGBT, and those with a disability. There is no fee payable to enter for this award.


Deadline for first round applications: Friday 29th May 2020 at 5pm.

Fundraising Regulator
Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016